Garments

We all wear clothes most of the time. And we all buy these things to wear that are most often made over seas. Well….with the double tragedy in Bangledesh recently, we should be rethinking things. Did you all know that there are 500 factories in Bangledesh alone and only 200 are certified safe?

Are you as proud as I am to wear a pair of cheap undies that cost somebody their life? Or was the reason a virgin girl was raped in a factory in Jordan? Repeatedly?

It doesn’t really anger me at all. I am beyond anger. I am saddened. Pure and simple grief. because these things happen in my name.

I keep saying that I will make my own clothes then. I try. I am going to try harder. Sure, I will buy second hand. Its here. And buying fabric is an issue that leads back to the same type of slave trade but I do have a stash. Maybe there are answers to that.

For one thing, how much clothes does a person need? I know, I have written about it before. I have done nothing. I have gotten virtually no response outside of my loyal choir of One (Chris).

I think I will look locally. I mentioned it to somebody who was interested in slow and local food and she didn’t take an interest whatsoever but perhaps she doesn’t care about fashion? I will try again.

I think people don’t realize that if we don’t sew well or design well, its okay. We just need to change our aesthetic. Or maybe be need to revert to vintage. Its up to each of us to decide that but  just like anything else we are trying to change, it has to start with something!

I am knitting a vintage sweater pattern with yarn I took from a coat sweater my mom gave me last year. I dyed it gray. It looks nearly new.

I need summer clothes due to weight gain. thats more immediate.

I will be back with a plan. And maybe something to show. Some links.

May the victims of our garment obsession rest in peace.

2 thoughts on “Garments

  1. I have thought about this in light of the terrible deaths of mostly young women in Bangledesh I can sew however responsibly manufactured cloth is also hard to find and I can’t grow spin and weave my own cloth. Perhaps there is a list of responsibly manufactured cloth out there I will keep looking!

    1. Fabric is my issue too and though I can spin nd do basic weaving, I am very slowat both. I have a stash of vintage fabric and I collect fabric at grage sales, thrift stores, etc. the fabric is not guilt free. I think American denim is the only thing available tnat might be ethical? If you find out, p,ease let me know and I will do the same.

Comments are closed.