Crazy Restless

An overstatement. It should be warm and its not. Its should be sunny and its not. After a full week of violent storms, we had two days of sun and then were plummeted once again into rainy weather. 

Not so violent so far but we shall remain stuck under the dark clouds until Sunday. Yesterday we had a freak thunderstorm. Molly (my dog) got very shook up about that (she barely flinched under tornado level winds) and wouldn’t even touch peanut butter treats afterwards. I think she is sick of this too. 

So I sit at home with perhaps one project too many started. A Mexican embroidered top (embroidery on yoke finished), a pair of socks knit on size 1 needles (just turned the heal on sock number one and think I will make a sweater with the yarn instead), and a pair of vintage French knickers (SewVeraVenus pattern drafting tutorial here, scroll down a bit ).  I am working out the muslin for fitting but found a few mistakes (on my part). I hope to make this test pair presentable enough to wear as shorts if and when the sun actually shines and the far Northern Hemisphere warms up. 

Thats too many projects for me. I like to focus more than that. Its the lack of Vitamin D. Makes me crazy restless. 

Grumpy. 

And you too would be if you started over 50 heirloom tomato plants only to watch them either die for lack of sunshine prior to planting or get washed out because they were planted. Its a lose/lose year in the garden-for tomatos that is. My cold crops are happy as Larry

 

4 thoughts on “Crazy Restless

  1. You lost 50 tomatoes? That stinks! I am slightly ashamed to admit that I am enjoying the cooler weather. I hate the heat and am thankful that it isn’t here, yet.

    I am really interested in the SewVeraVenus drafting tutorials, she has some really interesting stuff! I am eyeing the circular knickers. I have been wanting to make some lingerie and your piece (that I couldn’t comment on) about overseas sweat shops really confirms for me that I should be doing that. Thanks for the link!

    1. At least 50…we had lots of Cherokee Purples which are heirlooms. We sold some, gave Jasmine 3 and it looks like the rest were washed out. Maybe they are just covered in mud. I don’t have the heart to look.

      I don’t mind lower temps but I need the sun desperately. I take Vit. D and do have Seasonal Depressive Disorder so its very hard on me this year. Trying to avoid meds for this. But I get it as far as not liking the hot humid days we can be getting. I hate humidity.

      The circular knicker is the same as the one I am making-the French knicker, isn’t it? I am having an issue with the placket but I think thats because I used a heavier material for the “muslin”, some sort of broadcloth looking rayon I found at Goodwill. I am going to finish this and considering drafting her a line skirt too. Maybe we should have a lingerie sew along? Unofficial of course.

  2. How I can empathise with you! Rain is wonderful, but when you’re hankering for sunshine and it doesn’t come for days, even weeks, anyone can get the stir-crazies!

    Nuts to losing the plants though. Thank goodness you had a different variety of crops in to tied you over. Diversity really comes into it’s own here. Overlapping different crops is better than planning for only one to succeed.

    I was just thinking the other day, the way I learned to grow stuff was put seeds in the ground and water when necessary. That technique is not supported by current climate cycles. It take a greenhouse and artificial lights/heat to beat the elements. But then I’ve heard that can reduce the vigour of seed savings those same crops too. If they’re forced to survive against inhospitable conditions, those seeds will develop more (natural) genetic resistance over the years.

    So if any of your tomato plants DO survive, be sure to save the seeds from them for next year!

    1. Hi Chris, yes, its lovely until you feel like you should of built Noahs Arc. Our basement is flooding due to the over abundance of water in the soil-its more seepage than flooding but still. Its partly because we had so much snow as well. And our soil has a good amount of clay in it so its saturated beyond its ability to drain right now. Our septic is also not liking this very much.

      I am certain that we need a hoop house from here on out. I think that if one plants in the ground in the right season with the added protection of a hoop house it might be more like just creating a differant microclimate as opposed to an entire new bioregion like some greenhouses tend to create. We wouldn’t heat ours for example-not in the spring or summer anyhow.

      I will miss having a gazillion tomatoes though. I enjoy giving them away. And we hoped to sell some. I am rethinking going into agriculture as a business after this year-thats for sure.

      I do hope some of the plants just pop back up. They certainly will be stronger. They are already an heirloom variety-the Cherokee Purple. We shall see.

Comments are closed.